Events Calendar



November AGM - date to be decided


Welcome to the Knowledge Garage.

Working in the media?

Stuck for contact on a motoring story or issue?

Need a friendly voice to speak with authority or a face to show you or your audience how to do something?

Meet the experts in the Knowledge Garage set up by thewesterngroup to solve your media problems with a phone call or email. If you want to Meet the Experts, contact .


Tweets by @WGMWriters


Keep in touch.

Make sure we have your latest email address to keep you informed on thewesterngroup events and website updates every month. Send your updates to

Members' blogs & sites

Keep up to date with our members' websites, views and blogs by checking out , , , , and

Looking for something ?

Journalism awards widen this year and open from this week

publication date: Jun 19, 2014


HA awards 2014 logoThe 2014 Headlineauto Journalism and PR Awards are launched this week.


In six years,  the awards that have come to be recognised as the Oscars for the motor industry media and the only awards where the best journalists and PRs are chosen by their peers.

This year's awards have begun and run until July 11 - and culminate in a gala awards dinner at the Royal Garden Hotel in West London on September 17.

For 2014, HA has made changes to some categories to better reflect the way the car industry media works in the digital age.

This means that Broadcast Journalist of the year has changed to Best Use of Video and have also added Best Use of Digital Channel, which incorporates social media.

For the PR awards, there is now an additional category - Best Use of Digital Channel, which also includes social media.

The award for PR Event of the Year has been subtly changed following feedback last year. It is now two categories, Best Event for UK Media and Best International Event, to make sure there is a clear distinction between events just for UK-based media that could have been held in the UK or abroad and a true international event.

HA has also broadened the scope of the PR Person of the Year to include those working in PR agencies - so often the unsung heroes of the PR machine.

But the biggest change for 2014 is the process for our Outstanding Contribution Award, which will now be called the Magma Outstanding Contribution Award and is designed to recognise those whose careers have gone beyond just being successful.

This year the awards are expanded to those working in press and public relations. The judging panel is drawing up a long list of 10 potential winners which will be whittled down to five candidates over the coming weeks. That shortlist will then be discussed by another judging panel to decide on the 2014 winner.

For full details, categories and an explanation of how the nomination and judging process works, please see the awards site .


All articles & images are copyright of their creators